2024 Contest regions

The 2024 World Press Photo Contest works with a system that includes six regions. Entry to the annual World Press Photo Contest is based on where the photographs and stories are shot, rather than the nationality of the photographer. Here you can find which countries and areas fall under each region. Read more about why these regions were chosen.

If an entry includes photographs taken in different regions, the following guidelines apply: 

  • If a majority of images are from one region, then the project will automatically be placed into the region where most photographs have been taken.
  • If there is no clear majority of photographs taken in one region, then please indicate the region that you prefer to have your entry judged in when entering your work on Picter


Northern Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, Western Sahara.
Eastern Africa: British Indian Ocean Territory, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, French Southern Territories, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Middle Africa: Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé and Príncipe.
Southern Africa: Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa.
Western Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.


Central Asia: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.
Eastern Asia: China, Hong Kong (China SAR), Macao (China SAR), Taiwan (ROC), Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Japan, Mongolia, Republic of Korea.
Southern Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.
Western Asia: Bahrain, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, State of Palestine, Syrian Arab Republic, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.


Eastern Europe: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Czechia, Georgia, Hungary, Poland, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Ukraine.
Northern Europe: Åland Islands, Channel Islands (Guernsey, Jersey, Sark), Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands, Sweden, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
Southern Europe: Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Gibraltar, Greece, Holy See, Italy, Malta, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Republic of Kosovo, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey.
Western Europe: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Switzerland.

North and Central America

Caribbean: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin & Sint Maarten, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Virgin Islands.
Central America: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama.
Northern America: Bermuda, Canada, Greenland, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, United States of America.

South America

South America: Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bouvet Island, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).

Southeast Asia and Oceania

Southeast Asia: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Viet Nam.
Oceania: American Samoa, Australia, Christmas Islands, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Cook Islands, Fiji, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Guam, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Wallis and Futuna Islands.

Enter the 2024 Contest

Are you looking for more specific information? Visit one of the following pages to find out more about: